By Telling Its Members to Lobby MPs to Vote Against Military Action In Syria, Momentum Has Turned Its Back on the New Politics | Owen Bennett – Welcome to New Politics Owen

Quote, “I’m still a bit confused about the role of Momentum in this age of the ‘New Politics’.” Owen Winter.

Source: By Telling Its Members to Lobby MPs to Vote Against Military Action In Syria, Momentum Has Turned Its Back on the New Politics | Owen Bennett

I’m not a member of Labour or Momentum. I will never be a member of either. I parted company with Labour a long time ago. I have no intention of going back.

What I will do is use 38 Degrees, Change.org, The Peoples Assembly, Facebook, Twitter, even Momentum, if I agree with them on an issue. I will use them and be part of a larger group, with a louder voice. I will use them to take my voice on to the street. I will let the politicians know that I am here. They will hear my voice.

I will lobby my MP on issues of my choosing, but I will not be one voice, I will be one of a thousand voices, a million voices. Our voice will be heard. And yes, if an MP, an MEP, a councillor, a mayor, or a Police Commissioner,  wants my vote then he will need to listen.

They have a choice.

Owen Winter writes, “The official Twitter account of Momentum (@PeoplesMomentum) tweeted a link to a portal which encourages people to lobby their MPs to vote against extending UK military action in Syria”.

I think that it’s called democracy. It’s about organising a large group of people who have similar views. For too long Parliamentary lobbying has been the domain of the professional lobbyist, now the voters are organised lobbyists. We vote in thousands. Now we speak with a thousand voices.

When a party wants our votes at an election they mobilise their foot soldiers. They stop us in the street. They knock on our door. They enter our homes on TV and radio. They lobby us daily. Now the boot is on the other foot.

I will lobby. I will protest. I will vote. And the politicians will hear me. It’s called democracy. It’s called “New Politics”. And it’s not just Momentum, there are millions of us. The media are not the only voice, there are a million voices.

“I thought the New Politics would be “write to your MP to give YOUR view”, not “write to your MP to give THIS view”, he writes.

It is write to your MP and give YOUR view. But when I write to my MP and give MY view, I’m connected to a thousand other people who have a similar view.

Anyone can do it. You don’t have to be a member of any political party to do it. You don’t have to be part of any group to do it. It’s called New Politics. And it’s here to stay, so MPs and the Media better get used to it. Politics is no longer the private domain of the Westminster politicians and media hacks.

Leave a Reply

